Season of the Worthy

Destiny 2 – How Trials of Osiris works

Trials of Osiris is back in Destiny 2, it’s the pinnacle PVP mode that happens every weekend. It’s been away for a long time and with a huge influx of new players since it went away I thought it’d be good to go over a few points in terms of how it all works. The following is a guide for how Trials of Osiris works.

Trials of Osiris is 3v3 Elimination PVP with Saint-14 calling the matches. Power matters in Trials, so the higher the power level the better and the minimum requirements are 960. Before you start you’ll want to pick up a card from Saint-14, this card is your ticket into the event. Try and get as many wins as possible and it’s 3 losses and you have to start again. Get seven wins in a row with zero losses you’ll get a flawless victory and passage to The Lighthouse, the most coveted location in Destiny PVP history and some sweet rewards will be waiting for you.

Trials of Osiris starts on Friday at reset and sticks around until Tuesday reset, giving you a few days to try and get to the Lighthouse and get those rewards. There are a few things you’re going to need to get in including the right power level (960), a trials passage card and a fireteam. You’ll need two buddies – either pull them from your clan on use the Bungie companion app to find some fireteam members, this can be downloaded for Android and iOS.

Saint-14 is the voice of Trials, much like Shaxx calls regular PVP and Shaxx calls Iron Banner. Saint-14 will live in the Tower in his normal place (you can find him in the hangar). When Trials is available Saint-14’s inventory changes and is updated with Trials Passages, Bounties, and the option to turn in Trials Tokens.

Trials Passages

There are five unique Passages that can be bought from Saint-14 which offer their own mechanics. Each Passage will track wins and losses in a single Trials run. If three losses appear on a Passage, players will be restricted from the activity and have to either reset the Passage or purchase a new one.

  • Mercy – Always available – Forgives one loss per run.
  • Ferocity – Always available – With zero losses, your Third Win grants a Bonus Win.
  • Confidence – Unlocks after going Flawless – Grants a bonus reward from the Flawless chest.
  • Wealth – Unlocks at 5 wins – Increased Trials tokens from completing and winning Trials matches.
  • Wisdom – Unlocks at 7 wins – Grants bonus XP from Trials Wins, scaling with the number of Wins on a Ticket.

Passages can be used throughout a Trials weekend and can be Reset at any time. Only one Passage can be purchased at a time, but players can switch them out when new ones unlock. Progress will reset with each Passage purchase.

Trials Bounties

There are Trials bounties available too which come in 3 types – weekly, daily and additional. There are various rewards from bounties depending on which one you complete. Weekly reward XP, glimmer, 35 valor rank points and 5 trials tokens, Daily bounties rewards XP, 15 Valor rank points and 2 trials tokens and additional bounties reward XP and 2 trials tokens.

Along with Passages, players can also purchase three different Trials Bounties which will reward players for completing them: Weekly Bounties will reward XP, Glimmer, 35 Valor Rank Points, and 5 Trials Tokens; Daily Bounties will reward XP, 15 Valor Rank Points, and 2 Trials Tokens; and Additional Bounties will offer XP and 2 Trials Tokens.

Loot and Rewards

Trials are all about that armour and weapons you can get. They look cool and they represent your battles in Trials. Get 3, 5 or 7 wins in Trials and you’ll be rewarded weekly challenge trials rewards that can be unlocked on a single passage card. After 3 wins you get a tier II powerful drop, 5 wins tier III powerful drop, and 7 wins will give you Pinnacle Gear.

If make it to seven wins and zero losses you’ll get access to the Lighthouse, a social space dedicated to only those who go flawless. This is on mercury and you’ll be able to open the coveted flawless chest, which contains the best loot. Pinnacle Gear will be given once per week, per class. Once the Chest has been opened and players leave The Lighthouse, a new Flawless Passage will need to be completed to return.

Trials Engram

Players can turn in Trials Tokens to Saint-14 to increase their reputation and earn Trials Engrams. These Engrams will contain any piece of Trials gear that a player has previously earned. Any Trials Tokens that a player doesn’t spend will be removed when Trials ends on Tuesday at the weekly reset.

Trials Gear Glows

Players who go Flawless each week and have their Trials gear equipped will have a yellow glow that will appear, fading slowly after one week. To refresh the glow, players will need to go Flawless again. Once a player goes Flawless, they will receive two unique Trials emblems that can further change their glow color:

Light for the Lost – Trials Glow turns white when equipped
Lightmakers wear this emblem when carrying other players to the Lighthouse.

Flawless Empyrean – Trials Glow turns red when equipped
Lightbreakers wear this emblem when trying to block players from getting to the Lighthouse.

Stat trackers can be added to these emblems to show the number of Lighthouse carries or Lighthouse shutdowns, respectively, or other Trials stats.

Let me know down in the comments what you think of Trials of Osiris, what rewards did you get and what do you think of the event?

That’s it for this guide for how Trials of Osiris works. For more Destiny 2 content like this check out the Shadowkeep Guide or check out the YouTube Channel.